‘The Fantasy Life of Poetry & Crime’ is another beguiling left turn by one of the most prolific artists, Peter Doherty, once again defying those critics who have written him off, by producing his finest work to date.

Peter’s deft lyricism combined with Frederic’s delicious francophone musical arrangements is quite simply, a marriage made in heaven.

Written during lockdown and produced by Frédéric Lo ‘The Fantasy Life of Poetry & Crime’ was recorded at Cateuil in Étretat (Normandy) and Studio Water Music in Paris and mixed by François Delabrière at Studio Moderne, Paris. All words are by Peter Doherty and music by Frédéric Lo.

Peter Doherty & Frédéric Lo have today (Friday 21 January) announced the release of their new album ‘The Fantasy Life of Poetry & Crime’ through Strap Originals for Friday 18th March.

Today also sees a brand new single release to be taken from the album entitled ‘You Can’t Keep It From Me Forever’ and it’s is available to stream and download from today along with previous single ‘The Fantasy Life of Poetry & Crime,’

The album is available for preorder now HERE :

The video for ‘You Can’t Keep It From Me Forever,’ is directed & edited by Roger Sargent, and was filmed by Katia de Vidas in a bunker in Normandy just last week

‘The Fantasy Life of Poetry & Crime’ will be available on Vinyl (in multiple colours), CD, cassette and digital download along with exclusive and signed items from the Official Store


  • The Fantasy Life of Poetry & Crime
  • The Epidemiologist
  • The Ballad Of.
  • You Can’t Keep It From Me Forever
  • Yes I Wear A Mask
  • Rock & Roll Alchemy
  • The Monster
  • Invictus
  • The Glassblower
  • Keeping Me On File
  • Abe Wassenstein
  • Far From The Madding Crowd

Frédéric Lo is a French musician, musical director, composer, arranger, music producer and singer-songwriter. Living in Paris, Lo is most notably known for his work in duet with Daniel Darc and for his work with Pony Pony Run Run, Stephan Eicher , Maxime Le Forestier , Christophe Honoré and Alex Beaupain.

Peter Doherty has released three album with The Libertines (‘Up The Bracket’ (2002), ‘The Libertines’(2004) & ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’(2015) and With BabyshamblesDown In Albion’ (2005), ‘Shotters Nation’ (2007) & ’Sequel To The Prequel’(2013), two solo albums ‘Grace/Wastelands’ (2009) &’Hamburg Demonstrations’(2017) and Peter Doherty & The Puta Madres (2019).

Live dates in the UK and Europe by Peter Doherty & Frédéric Lo will be announced shortly.






Strap Originals Twitter

Strap Originals Instagram

Words by The Songbird HQ