Last year undoubtedly ended on an envious high for ROLLA as the year saw then touring and hitting arenas with the likes of Kasabian and Shaun Ryder. Further accolades came in the form of being named #5 in The Sun newspapers 23 For 23 new artist rundown and a piece in Rolling Stone Magazine.

The band’s single ‘Ease My Mind’ also saw them receiving their first national airplay courtesy of John Kennedy on Radio X.

ROLLA have now released their latest single ‘Hey You’ – (17.03.23) which was named as XS Manchester’s Record of the Week. This single release is the precursor to the band’s debut EP ‘Nothing Less Than Everything’ which is due for release on April 5th before embarking upon a UK headline tour shortly thereafter.

ROLLA have stated that their intentions for this year are that they’re stepping up to be “bigger,louder and brighter than ever before” and ‘Hey You’ certainly does not disappoint!

‘Hey You’ Is undoubtedly a track reflecting on the lads roots as its got that Manc vibe through and through. There’s a certain arrogance and swagger at play likened with the one and only LG, who is clearly a big influence on this band as they chant and and deliver powerful, provocative lyrics backed by fuzzing, scuzzing guitars and pounding drums together with some epic guitar solos thrown in for good measure. It’s 5.10 mins length just adds to the potency of this rock n roll Madchester masterpiece.

ROLLA commented, “‘Hey You’ is a full throttle modern rock ‘n’ roll anthem with subtle nods to the ‘90s Madchester rave scene. We blended drum loops with growing guitars, grooving bass lines and roaring vocals in a beautiful blend of musical alchemy.” 

As with the rest of the upcoming EP, ‘Hey You’ was written by ROLLA – James Gilmore (vocals), Luke McConnell (guitar), Luke Gilmore(bass), Tom Paddon (guitar) and Saul Bardsley (drums) – and was recorded at Rockfield Studios during a week of self-confessed “creative carnage” with production from Nick Brine (OasisStone Roses) and mixing courtesy of Gareth Nuttall (The Lottery WinnersThe K’s). 

‘Hey You’ and ‘Ease My Mind’ are both tracks which are to be taken from the upcoming EP and they are ramping up the anticipation for the release of the ‘Nothing Less Than Everything’ EP. The band describe the EP as an “electrifying powerhouse of rock ‘n’ roll attitude interspersed with a tender ballad, its lyrics focus on brotherhood, battling against the odds, and striving to achieve your goals regardless of anyone else’s opinion”.

Remaining tickets for the band’s upcoming UK headline tour are available HERE.


12th – London, The Lower Third 

13th – Birmingham, The Rainbow 

14th – Manchester, Gorilla (SOLD OUT) 


19th – Bridlington Spa, This Feeling By The Sea


Spotify | YouTube | TikTok | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Words Sally Newman