The release of ‘Songbird’ comes ahead of Rianne’s second EP of 2023 and an announcement of yet more tour dates to follow her current, SOLD-OUT UK shows.

How could we not review this single!? While my interest was piqued by the name alone (for obvious reasons) one listen had me on my knees praising the Gods that this song is in existence. It’s stunning and ethereal and beautiful in every single way and I for one am a massive fan!

Rianne’s vocals on , Songbird are crystal clear sweet pitched perfection all set to the background of a melodic masterpiece. Strumming acoustic guitars and laid back instrumentals allow Rianne’s voice to really shine in the spotlight as the lyrics come into play “ if you just close your eyes, the songbird’s at your side, I know just where to fly, and if it gets too much, my voice will be enough to dry the tears from your eyes, because I adore the ground you walk on and I just wanna save you from yourself, and if the tables they could turn I’d take the pain and put it on myself” – wow, I’m seriously in love with this song in every single way.

Rianne is not yet a mother herself and this obviously isn’t her song for that, but I can totally imagine this song being sung by a mother to her child…. In fact, me singing it to my child. This song speaks to me, it has moved me and although only released today is already in my all time favourites.

Thank you Rianne xxx

Starting as she means to go on, this year has already seen Rianne hitting new highs with the release of the singles, Alright and Hard (winning both BBC Radio 1 and 6 Music support). Both tracks, alongside Home, released last winter, bore deep into her loves, losses and leave-behinds as the early years of her twenties provide a moment’s pause for reflection on how far she’s come and the obstacles she’s had to navigate along the way. For every moment of pain, a verse or chorus has been written.

Following her support of artists like Liam Fray, The Lathums and The Snuts as well as numerous major festival stages, the singer-songwriter says she heard the melodies and voices of Bruce Springsteen and Sam Fender in her head as Songbird came to life. Fearlessly autobiographical, the single paints a portrait of a performer unafraid to write every wrong turn, dead end and hard-won life lesson into her songs.

Downey says of the single: “Songbird is a kitchen sink lament to the struggles of modern love. It reads like a letter to someone, sealed in an envelope and found on the top deck of a bus on a rainy midweek afternoon on the outskirts of the city. It’s often easier to express it in a letter, or a song, which, in a way, sets the words free. Like a Songbird.”

Listen to Songbird HERE NOW

Rianne is supported in her music by her band, comprising Liverpool-based musicians, Nathaniel Laurence (guitars), Phil Murphy (drums) and Sam Topping (bass).

Having only released her Come What May EP a few weeks ago in February, comes the announcement that four new tracks will be released before summer on a new EP named Method To My Madness.

With her long sold-out, 2021 Fuel To The Flame EP also in her swelling catalogue, Downey also announces the release a 12-track compilation of all three EPs on multiple formats on Fri 9 June 2023 with Run On Records.

Gigs for Rianne to date have seen her take on a lock-out capacity King Tut’s Wah-Wah Hut in Glasgow and The Grace, London. There’s also a plethora of summer festival appearances to be announced and her September date at Edinburgh’s Mash House sets off three consecutive nights of celebration in her native Scotland.


  • Wed 22 March – Birmingham, Dead Wax – SOLD OUT
  • Thu 23 March – Manchester, Deaf Institute – SOLD OUT
  • Sat 25 March – Glasgow, King Tuts – SOLD OUT 
  • Thu 14 September – Edinburgh, Mash House
  • Fri 15 September – Aberdeen, Tunnels
  • Sat 16 September – Dundee, Church

Tickets for the September dates can be found at



Words by Sally Newman